Iowa Basement Tapes Broadcast #2 7-12-18

Night Listeners –
I return this week a heavier dose of tunes from the basement of our blessed heartland. Station manager Gary shared a Hawks LP with me that I am really digging. They were out of the Otho/Fort Dodge area back in the early 80s. They have a really catchy rock-pop vibe to them that always gives me an amazing sense of freedom. I also spent some time jamming The Des Moines 4 Track Compilation that Sump Pump Records put out back in 2014. I love this concept for a compilation. It wasn’t just bands submitting tracks that were recorded on a 4 Track, Dan Hutchinson recorded every single artist using the same Tascam 414 MKII recorder.
Cedar Rapids/Iowa City music archivist Ben Smasher sent me some new tunes from experimental artist Deer Slayer along with a collection of tracks from the Des Moines band, Luxury. Ben runs the 319 Dude Bandcamp page which has an amazing selection of music from the Eastern Iowa music scene.

  1. Captain 3 Leg – “Silver Finger” / split with X-Ray Mary (Ottumwa)
  2. X-Ray Mary – “Fork Tongue” / split with Captain 3 Leg (Ottumwa)
  3. USAUSA – “Goodbye My Research, Goodbye” / USAUSA (Iowa City)
  4. Luxury – “Green Hearts” / Green Hearts 7″ (Des Moines)
  5. Kyle Numann – “Equestrian Friends” / Ukulalia (Iowa City)
  6. Deer Slayer – “Phantom Sweeps” / Guitar Cryer (Cedar Rapids)
  7. Annalibera – “Black Cat, White Cat” / The Des Moines 4 Track Compilation Vol. 1 (Des Moines)
  8. Hawks – “Tonight Your Mine” / 30 Seconds Over Otho (Otho)
  9. Karen Meat & The Computer – “On The Couch” / On The Couch 7″ (Des Moines)
  10. Full Fathom Five – “Why Their Faces So Worn” / The Iowa Compilation (Iowa City)
  11. Bankshot – “Skate All Night” / Bankshot EP (Davenport)
  12. Die Mutts – “Old Videos” (Des Moines)
  13. Mantis Pincers – “Black Capes On Blondes” / The Des Moines 4 Track Compilation Vol. 1 (Des Moines)
  14. Unisex – “Kool Aid & Crayons” (boombox) / Hold Your Breath… And Then Some (Ottumwa)
  15. Wolves In The Attic – “Last Call” / The Des Moines 4 Track Compilation Vol. 1 (Des Moines)

DOWNLOAD SHOW #2 on Itunes

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Close Menu